Personal Game Plan 2013

With yesterday’s post outlining my photography plans, I wanted to also set out goals for my own personal development. So here they are:

1. Build & maintain a strong social circle

Jim Rohn once said “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” I wholeheartedly agree with this so I should be spending my time with positive, like-minded people. Spending too much alone and/or with negative people will only hurt me in the long run.

2. Go Travelling

The often used phrase “travel broadens the mind” rings very true with me. A change of scenery would open my mind to new experiences and things I just won’t find on my doorstep. There’s a big world out there and I want to see much more of it while I still have the time.

3. Read more books

Looking at my digital book collection, I would call myself a hoarder of sorts. I have many books that are either popular or recommended to me that I haven’t put aside the time to actually read. There’s a lot of knowledge written in these books that I’m missing out on. Also, it’s a much more productive use of my recreation time.

Summary

Now with my goals set for the New Year, there’s the challenge of getting up and doing these things for real. There are sure to be a lot of ups and downs but it’s part of the process of becoming a better human being. I’ll be sure to keep you posted as the year goes by.

I would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions on this topic so be sure to leave any feedback/comments you have below. Have a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

