Photography Game Plan 2013

Well, it’s that time again where we close the door on yet another year and plan to make this year even better. I’m proud of the things that I’ve accomplished in 2012 and want to build on that positivity for 2013. So here are a few things that I plan on sorting out over the course of the year:

1. Explore other genres of photography

As most people who visit my blog know, my main focus is street photography, capturing the local people in various situations. But in the past, I’ve dabbled a bit in other genres such as portrait and fashion. I really enjoyed exploring these genres and wish to go even further with them to see where it takes me creatively.

2. Building my brand & portfolio

While learning what makes photographers stand out from the crowd, it’s very advantageous to have great networking/business skills to be successful in the industry. Right now, I’m in the process of building my brand up to a more professional level for potential clients by maintaining this blog and other social profiles.

3. Take more risks in my creative process

As much as I appreciate all the positive feedback, I feel that I should push myself even further and really see what I can come up with. Constantly working with new people and doing things out of my comfort zone is a challenge but it’s a challenge that will benefit me in many ways. That’s what it takes to make it in other creative industries and photography is no different.

Summary

I think having just three objectives here would get me more focused on the task at hand instead of spreading myself thin, doing 100 things at the same time and coming up nowhere. Also, this post will give me accountability for my goals and for you some ideas to think about.

I’d love to hear some of your own resolutions/plans for the New Year as we’re all in this together and as a collective we can make great things happen in 2013!

Leave a Reply

